Uprooted

uprooted

It’s dreary and storming outside, which has become par for the course the past few weeks in SC but due to my stubborn resistance to going grocery shopping, I don’t even have the stuff to make a pot of soup or chili! What kind of rainy day is that?

And in procrastinating going to the store to get my act together (because really, soup is necessary for days like this and my spiritual well-being generally), I figured now is as good a time as any to join the chorus talking about Uprooted.

I have grown accustomed to assuming every new book I pick up is part of a new series or trilogy as a default now. And naturally, this book, which I would pay lots of my hard earned money for it to continue, is a stand alone in a sea of series. Naturally.

So, if you couldn’t tell, I really enjoyed this book. The main character is engaging, believable, and fully formed – this was the first book I read after A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I talked about here, and seeing a main character so well rounded and complex was refreshing AF. I enjoyed her dynamic relationships with Kisa and the Dragon, and the world was a unique one to me – I enjoyed learning about it as the book went on, and greatly, massively, hugely appreciated there wasn’t one big info dump where I had to wade through “this is the history of my hometown. This is every single thing we eat, this is how we farm, this is the history of our royal family, and my family, and here are all the dogs we’ve ever had in alphabetical order…”

I also enjoyed that none of the Dragon’s asshole-behavior was “woobified,” and that Agnieszka had agency and made her own decisions (and mistakes) when in other stories women in similar situations have been written with less. If that sentence made any sense.

I did see someone on YT (and I forgot who, I’m really sorry!) complain that the pacing of this story was “relentless,” and it is fast, and there are a series of problems that seem to just keep coming one after the other – as soon as one problem is solved, another comes up, and honestly the ending and the “overarching problem” isn’t really what I expected when I first started – but that’s kind of the point, isn’t it? Our protagonist has no idea about “The Wood,” and the story is told from her point of view – the pacing made sense with all the stuff that starts happening kind of at once, and with all that Agnieszka starts to learn about her home and herself.

I know Novik has written another series, and after Uprooted, I will be adding that to my 2016 reading list. Uprooted was an entirely unique addition to my bookshelf, and the themes it presents and the feelings it leaves you with about home, the places and people we love and protect was kind of a perfect, fulfilling wrap up for the year.

One thought on “Uprooted

Leave a Reply

